The Girl Who Hasn’t Showered Since Kurt Cobain Died

Rose Water Magazine

  dirty girls

“I’m not going to do anything for anyone any more; I’m not gonna look good for anybody because why should I? Then things started getting clearer in my mind. I can be whoever I wanna be, I don’t have to dress for anyone, I don’t have to look good for anyone, I don’t have to do anything for anyone. I can just be myself.”

Michael Lucid’s 1996 high school documentary, centers around the world of “the dirty girls” a group of 13-year-old riot grrls, slaying their fellow classmates with feminist zines and general “I don’t give a fuck what you think” attitude. The piece largely follows the two sisters, Amber and Harper Willat, who aren’t shy to express their forward-thinking views on rape and the oppression of the female gender, whilst those surrounding them mock and refer to their attitudes as “dime-store feminism.”  Like being a 13-year-old high…

View original post 650 more words

Leave a Reply

